MS-102 Retires November 30: Take It Now or Move to AB-650?

MS-102 retires November 30, 2026. Compare it with the new AB-650 beta, see the skill weights, prerequisites, a 54 day countdown plan and what Microsoft has not yet said.
MS-102 retirement

TL;DR: Microsoft’s own pages say the MS-102 exam retires on November 30, 2026 at 11:59 PM Central, and the Microsoft 365 Certified: Administrator Expert certification page carries the same date. As of October 7 that leaves 54 days. AB-650, “Administering Microsoft 365 and AI Services,” is live in beta, and it leads to a new Associate-level certification called Microsoft 365 and AI Services Administrator Associate. Here is the catch: Microsoft’s AB-650 pages never say it replaces MS-102, and they list no prerequisite. Third-party material often treats AB-650 as the successor, but it is a different level and a different mix of topics. This guide gives you the dates, a side-by-side of the skills, a week-by-week countdown, and the questions Microsoft has not answered yet.

If you manage Microsoft 365 tenants, or you are working toward Administrator Expert, you have a deadline and an unusually unclear replacement story. Here is what is confirmed and what is not.

Quick Facts

ItemMS-102AB-650
Exam titleMicrosoft 365 AdministratorAdministering Microsoft 365 and AI Services
StatusActive, retiringBeta
RetirementNovember 30, 2026, 11:59 PM CentralNone specified
Linked certificationMicrosoft 365 Certified: Administrator Expert (also lists November 30, 2026)Microsoft 365 and AI Services Administrator Associate (beta)
LevelExpertAssociate
Prerequisites for the certificationAt least one prerequisite certification (see the conflict below)None listed
Passing score700700
LanguagesEnglish, Chinese (Simplified), German, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazil)English
Last updatedApril 28, 2026Study guide updated July 27, 2026
PriceVaries by country or regionVaries by country or region. Check the exam provider

The Countdown Plan: 54 Days to November 30

As of October 7, 2026, there are 54 days until MS-102 retires. Here is a way to use them.

Days leftWeeks leftWhat to do
54 to 47About 8Decide your goal (see the decision table below). Check which prerequisite certification you hold
46 to 40About 7Read the official MS-102 skills outline and mark weak areas, if you are taking MS-102
39 to 26About 6 to 4Study the heaviest area first: Microsoft Defender XDR at 30 to 35%
25 to 14About 4 to 2Hands-on practice in Entra, Defender and Purview. Take a practice assessment
13 to 7About 2 to 1Book the exam. Do not leave it for the last week
6 to 0Final weekReview weak topics. Remember the last day is November 30

If you are leaning toward AB-650 instead, the same window still helps you prepare, because the AB-650 beta has no announced end date in the pages we read.

Which path fits your situation

Your situationLikely best moveWhy
You hold a prerequisite certification and want the Administrator Expert credentialPass MS-102 before November 30Microsoft says the exam must be completed before the retirement date to apply toward the certification
You do not hold a prerequisite certificationEarn one first, or consider AB-650The Expert certification page requires a prerequisite certification
You administer Copilot and agents day to dayAB-650About 35 to 40% of it covers managing and securing AI services in Microsoft 365
You are early in your Microsoft 365 admin careerAB-650It is Associate level and lists no prerequisite certification
You already hold Administrator ExpertKeep renewing itMicrosoft says renewals are free through an online assessment on Microsoft Learn
You are unsureStudy the shared topics nowEntra, Defender and Purview feature in both

What Microsoft Says About MS-102

The MS-102 study guide describes an exam for Microsoft 365 administrators who deploy and manage tenants, work in cloud and hybrid environments, and coordinate across workloads. It lists these skills.

Skill areaWeight
Deploy and manage a Microsoft 365 tenant25 to 30%
Implement and manage Microsoft Entra identity and access25 to 30%
Manage security and threats by using Microsoft Defender XDR30 to 35%
Manage compliance by using Microsoft Purview10 to 15%

Recommended background includes functional experience with Microsoft 365 workloads and Microsoft Entra ID, plus working knowledge of networking, Active Directory Domain Services, DNS and PowerShell.

The retirement note on the certification page is worth reading closely. It says you must complete MS-102 before November 30, 2026 to have it applied toward your certification, and that after the retirement date you should refer to the related certification for exam requirements.

What Microsoft Says About AB-650

The AB-650 study guide describes administrators who configure, manage, secure and govern Microsoft 365 tenants, support Microsoft 365 Copilot and agents, and work with architects and other administrators.

Skill areaWeight
Configure and manage Microsoft 365 tenants and workloads20 to 25%
Govern and secure Microsoft 365 tenants and workloads40 to 45%
Manage and secure AI services in Microsoft 36535 to 40%

What each area contains, as the guide lists it:

AreaExamples from the guide
Tenants and workloadsTenant configuration, license management including group-based licensing, AI service licenses (Copilot, Agent 365, Copilot Studio), Microsoft 365 Backup, Exchange, Teams and SharePoint workload management
Govern and secureEntra users, guests, groups, PIM and administrative units, MFA, Conditional Access, SSPR, Defender for Office 365, Purview DLP, sensitivity labels and retention, Data Security Posture Management
AI servicesCopilot tenant and data readiness, web search, Copilot Chat, agent identity in Entra, agent registry and publishing, agent activity monitoring, cost management and usage reports through the Copilot Control System

Recommended background includes experience with Microsoft 365 workloads and Microsoft Entra ID, an understanding of Defender XDR capabilities, and familiarity with Microsoft Graph PowerShell.

MS-102 vs AB-650, Side by Side

TopicMS-102AB-650
Core ideaAdminister a Microsoft 365 tenantAdminister a Microsoft 365 tenant and its AI services
IdentityEntra identity and access, 25 to 30%Entra is inside the governance and security area, which is 40 to 45%
SecurityDefender XDR, 30 to 35%Defender for Office 365 and threat policies are inside the governance area
CompliancePurview, 10 to 15%Purview DLP, labels and retention are inside the governance area
Tenant setup25 to 30%20 to 25%
AI, Copilot and agentsNot listed as a skill area35 to 40%
Certification levelExpertAssociate
Prerequisite certificationYesNone listed

The pattern is clear. AB-650 keeps the same core of identity, security and compliance, folds them into one larger area, and adds a large section for Copilot and agent management. A person who knows MS-102 content has a head start on the tenant, identity, security and compliance topics, but the AI area is new ground. Microsoft does not publish a topic-by-topic mapping between the two exams, so this comparison is ours, built from the two outlines.

Where Microsoft’s Own Pages Do Not Line Up

Is AB-650 the replacement for MS-102?

SourceWhat it says
Microsoft’s MS-102 and Administrator Expert pagesGive the retirement date. Do not name a replacement exam
Microsoft’s AB-650 and Associate certification pagesPresent AB-650 as a standalone beta exam. Do not mention MS-102 or Administrator Expert
Third-party articlesOften describe AB-650 as the successor

Microsoft has not drawn a line between the two on the pages we read. Treat the successor idea as common talk, not an official statement.

The prerequisite list

SourcePrerequisite certifications listed
MS-102 study guideEndpoint Administrator Associate, Teams Administrator Associate, Identity and Access Administrator Associate
Administrator Expert certification pageThose three, plus Information Security Administrator Associate

The certification page lists four. The study guide lists three. The certification page is likely the more complete list, but check the page for your own situation.

Are two things retiring, or one?

The Administrator Expert certification page shows November 30, 2026 as a retirement date, and the MS-102 page shows the same date for the exam. We could not tell from the pages whether the Expert certification itself stops being earnable, or whether it continues with a different exam requirement. The note says to refer to the related certification after the retirement date, which does not settle it.

What Happens If You Already Hold Administrator Expert?

QuestionWhat we found
Does your existing certification disappear on November 30?Not stated
Can you renew it?Microsoft says role-based certifications expire and can be renewed free through an online assessment on Microsoft Learn
Will renewal still be possible after the retirement date?Not stated
Do you need AB-650?Not stated. AB-650 is presented as a separate certification

If you hold the certification today, the sensible step is to check your Microsoft Learn transcript for your expiry date and renewal window, and keep an eye on the certification page for updates.

Common Mistakes

MistakeWhy it hurts
Waiting until late November to bookThe exam must be completed before the retirement date, so a rescheduling problem leaves no room
Treating AB-650 as the same exam with a new nameIt is Associate level, with a different weighting and a large AI section
Assuming a prerequisite is not needed for Administrator ExpertThe certification page lists prerequisite certifications
Relying on the four prerequisite list or the three list without checkingThe two Microsoft pages differ
Ignoring the AI material because you work in securityAB-650 puts 35 to 40% on AI services
Using study material from before 2026MS-102 was updated April 28, 2026, and AB-650 is new
Assuming your existing certification is safe or unsafe without checkingMicrosoft has not clearly stated the effect on current holders

How to Prepare

If you are taking MS-102

  1. Read the skills outline first. Mark the four areas as strong, weak or new.
  2. Spend the most time on Defender XDR. It carries 30 to 35%.
  3. Do hands-on work in Entra and the Microsoft 365 admin center. Tenant deployment and identity are each 25 to 30%.
  4. Do not neglect Purview. It is only 10 to 15%, but it is easy to lose points there.
  5. Take a practice assessment. Use Microsoft’s own practice assessment alongside MS-102 practice questions.
  6. Book early. Pick a date at least two weeks before November 30.

If you are taking AB-650

  1. Start from the shared core. Entra, Defender for Office 365 and Purview carry over.
  2. Learn the AI area properly. Cover Copilot readiness, agent identity, the agent registry and the Copilot Control System.
  3. Practice governance tasks. This area is the largest at 40 to 45%.
  4. Use PowerShell and Microsoft Graph PowerShell. Microsoft lists Graph PowerShell familiarity as recommended.
  5. Watch for beta details. Check the exam page for price and availability before you book.

Which Related Guides Help

If you are mapping out a wider Microsoft path, these CertEmpire guides cover the neighbors:

Career Value

We have not included salary figures here. We couldn’t find a pay number that separates people with this credential from everyone else with an administrator job title, and Microsoft’s pages don’t publish pay.

The pages do show the direction of the role. The newer certification describes administrators who run Microsoft 365 Copilot, agents and connected AI capabilities, with governance and security at the center. If your job is moving that way, AB-650 describes it more closely than MS-102 does. If you need the Expert credential for a job requirement or a partner program, MS-102 is the route that exists today, and it closes on November 30.

What We Don’t Know Yet

Open questionWhy it matters
Whether Microsoft names AB-650 as the successor to MS-102Affects whether AB-650 is your replacement or a separate path
Whether Administrator Expert can be earned after November 30, and through which examDecides whether you must rush MS-102
What happens to current Administrator Expert holdersAffects renewals and your resume
The AB-650 beta end date and the general availability dateAffects how long beta pricing lasts
The AB-650 exam pricePages say it varies by country or region
Whether three or four prerequisite certifications countThe two Microsoft pages differ
Whether AB-650 will become a prerequisite for anythingCould change its value

FAQS

When does MS-102 retire?

November 30, 2026 at 11:59 PM Central, according to Microsoft’s MS-102 page.

What replaces MS-102?

Microsoft’s pages do not name a replacement. AB-650 is a new beta exam for administrators, and third-party articles often call it the successor, but Microsoft’s AB-650 pages do not say so.

Is AB-650 harder or easier than MS-102?

Microsoft does not rate difficulty. AB-650 is Associate level and MS-102 is Expert level, but AB-650 adds a large section on AI services, so the content is different rather than simply easier.

Do I need a prerequisite for AB-650?

None is listed on the AB-650 or Associate certification pages. The Administrator Expert certification does list prerequisite certifications.

What are the AB-650 skill areas?

Configure and manage Microsoft 365 tenants and workloads (20 to 25%), govern and secure Microsoft 365 tenants and workloads (40 to 45%), and manage and secure AI services in Microsoft 365 (35 to 40%).

What are the MS-102 skill areas?

Deploy and manage a tenant (25 to 30%), Entra identity and access (25 to 30%), Defender XDR security and threats (30 to 35%), and Purview compliance (10 to 15%).

Can I still take MS-102 today?

Yes. It is active until the retirement date and is available in seven languages.

Which languages is AB-650 offered in?

English only, as listed during the beta.

Does the MS-102 retirement cancel my Administrator Expert certification?

Microsoft’s pages do not say so. They state that you must complete MS-102 before November 30, 2026 to have it applied toward the certification, and that renewals are free through an online assessment. Check your Microsoft Learn transcript for your own dates.

Which prerequisite certifications count for Administrator Expert?

The certification page lists four: Endpoint Administrator Associate, Teams Administrator Associate, Identity and Access Administrator Associate and Information Security Administrator Associate. The MS-102 study guide lists three. Check the certification page.

What is the passing score?

700 for both MS-102 and AB-650.

Should I take MS-102 or AB-650?

If you need the Administrator Expert credential and meet the prerequisite, take MS-102 before the deadline. If your work centers on Copilot, agents and AI governance, AB-650 matches it more closely. The two are different levels, so they are not interchangeable.

Leave a Replay

Table of Contents

Have You Tried Our Exam Dumps?

Cert Empire is the market leader in providing highly accurate valid exam dumps for certification exams. If you are an aspirant and want to pass your certification exam on the first attempt, CertEmpire is you way to go. 

Scroll to Top